Tags

, , , , ,

When you’re in a city, pay attention to the outside walls of the older buildings because you might be lucky to catch sight of a ghost sign. Before the billboards, before the neon signs, and before the videos, if you wanted to advertise your business you had someone paint it on the side of a wall.  Often, not long after you had your advertisement painted, someone else came by and painted over your ad with someone else’s.

I adore these signs because even with the most basic and plain of these advertisements there’s some skill involved, something that seems to be missing in our current society.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of technology, but I also love the artistry of a hand written word. Perhaps, like these ghost signs I have a foot each in both worlds.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/names/

