Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Walk into a modern cemetery and you see nothing but a sea of dull, non-descript slabs of granite with a generic epitaph, that is if you can see them at all, most graves nowadays are simply marked by a small plaque that is slowly being consumed by the grass.  Enter an older cemetery and you’ll more likely be overwhelmed by the display of sculpture, and that in my mind is a far more fitting celebration of a life.

Just over a week ago I entered the Pere Lachaise cemetery in Paris, I’ve been there before but this time I had more time to wander about and I took many photo’s as well as a number of video’s, (using the 8mm app on my phone, the Noir & 1920’s worked wonderfully and I’ll share them on another day).  It had been a few years since I’d been there and I’d almost forgotten about the beauty of the tombs and the graves, cemeteries like this are some of the best art galleries in the world.

Pere Lachaise Pere Lachaise Pere Lachaise Pere Lachaise Pere Lachaise

 

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/daily-prompt-details/

