Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I first got into photography when I was eleven years old, at first I took some silly photo’s usually involving my sister and brother, some holiday snaps, but in amongst them I started to take pictures that were a bit more interesting.  Unfortunately, so called grown up life began to interfere with my creative side, the photo’s I did take tended to be of drunken night’s out, not that was a bad thing, I’ve got some interesting and humourous photo’s from some debauched outings.  But, my pictures soon became few and far between, and a bit dull.  That was until I came across some photo’s by Simon Marsden, and I found a new and strong inspiration, one that continues to today.

It wasn’t until I learned of his death in January 2012, that I realised just how much he had inspired me, I tend not to get too involved with those who I admire, (admiration can lead to worship and that is a one way street to disappointment).

Upon first views of his work, many people assume his intention was to become a ghost hunter, to capture a ghost on film, but they’re wrong, it was to capture the atmosphere of a place, obviously haunted or not.  That was something that I had picked up on, and it is what I often try to capture with my own photography, to capture the atmosphere of a place, in another time, or even in another place, and I’ll keep trying until I do.

 

*note while Simon Marsden rejected digital photography, I embrace it heartedly, although I do keep one foot in film.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/daily-prompt-homage/

