Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Begin rant…….

Patriot, the very word makes me cringe, sneer, roll back my eyes and raise my eyebrows, sometimes all at the same time, and it’s not a good look on me, it’s been known to frighten small children and animals.  Patriotism breeds arrogance and ignorance, the arrogance of believing that you live in the best country in the world leads to you be so wrapped up in your own little world that you become ignorant of the rest of the planet.

I hold two passports, I’ve been educated, have worked and paid taxes in both of these countries and I can’t say I’d pick one over the other, each have their faults and beauties, and that’s been the case in all the countries I’ve been lucky to visit. There’s no such thing as the “best country in the world.”

What makes a country? It’s people, we may have different stories, traditions, but when you take that away you’ll see we have the same or similar loves, hopes and dreams.  To believe that you live in the better country is akin to believing that you are better than someone else.

……end rant.

And now onto the show.

I had a rummage through my photos, seeking out some iconic symbols to represent the countries of my two citizenships, but of course none of these can truly represent them.  I’ve never lived in a castle, although I have visited many, and I do not currently live in an Igloo, or in the wilderness, just wanted to make that clear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABoudicca and BenPatriot-4 Patriot-5

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/daily-prompt-country/

