Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Abandoned homes always catch my eye.  Often they’re a glimpse into the past, and I find myself wondering why they were left. I find most modern buildings to be void of character, some of the worst of them are the new houses in North America, better known as “McMansion’s.” They are bland, cold, (not necessarily in the literal sense), and poorly built. It’s worse when you realise just how much they cost.

So I prefer buildings of an earlier age.  I don’t care if they have smaller rooms, and lack open space because when you live with family there are times when you need a space to be on your own.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is an abandoned house that I came across while walking in a wooded area near Oberursel, Germany.  It was winter, just after Christmas, and as I was walking, this building caught my eye.  Odd, at first I thought because I later discovered I had only been past this a couple of days earlier. But, then my attention was on three children in my care rather than my surroundings.

woods house -9

In other journey’s I’ve come across many other buildings, and forms of transportation, sadly left to rot.

Brighton West Pier 2011

Brighton West Pier 2011

Cultra, Ulster

Cultra, Ulster

Meanwhile in Canada….

Port Dover

Port Dover

Port Dover, ON, Canada

Port Dover, ON, Canada

house ruin -4

house ruin -6-1house ruins -3-1Barn ruin-1

