Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“You’ve got to read this! It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, it’s simply wonderful!”

The Letter

That was a quote from stranger who approached me in a bookstore, I was looking at the display of Harry Potter books trying to figure out which was the first, althoughI still hadn’t decided that I was actually going to leave with one of them.  I’d seen the books before, who could miss the build up for the fourth book, and I couldn’t help but notice the majority of my fellow commuters were reading one of the series. But, weren’t they just children’s books and how long had it been since a children’s book was readable for an adult?

Her honest enthusiasm, and well, the low cost of the book was what made me pick one up.  Luckily, I had chosen the first of the series.

I began reading on my way home later that day and missed my stop.  I had an early night but I still went to work tired the next day because I had stayed up late reading.  The following day I bought the other three books and I had read all of them in about a couple of weeks.  J. K. Rowling had me at “thank you very much.”

From there, I happily fell into the online fandom for these books, it led to RPG, some fan fiction, and a lot of fun.  It awoken the creativity in me that had been dormant for far too long, and it brought me to some incredibly talented, brilliant and wonderful people that I feel lucky to call friends.

While the books remain number one, (I’ll go into why I love the books later), I do really enjoy seeing this other world outside of my imagination, and seeing it through other eyes.  So, when I heard about the Harry Potter Studio Tour, I knew I had to go at least once, although I could very well go again.  In the three hours or so there, I took over a thousand photo’s there and I know I still missed quite a bit.

And now, the photo’s.

It was a bit daunting, sorting through all of them and trying to fit them into a single post, and I failed.  So, the next few posts and photo’s from me will be all about Harry Potter’s world.  Costumes and creatures, potions and props, sets, both outdoor and indoor, models and MOM.

I’ll begin at the start of the tour, and even if you’re not a fan I’ll be surprised if you’re not impressed with what some incredibly talented and dedicated people created.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This is what you see while in the queue for entry to the Great Hall, and now, the Great Hall.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
