Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The original or the copy, which do you prefer?  I’ve always veered towards the original, even if it is in a ruined state.  Actually, I often prefer the ruined state.  Don’t get me wrong I’m not against preservation, unless you’re an 80 year old woman in Spain, (although the comedic entertainment was worth it, and lets be honest, it wasn’t a great work to begin with), because time will always conquer whatever humans neglect.

I’ve been to Disney, both in California and in Florida, and while I did enjoy the rides everything else was almost unbearably insincere.  if you want the real Disney castle, visit the Tyn Church in Prague, Czech Republic, and Neuschwanstein Castle in south west Germany.

Tyn Church-1

I’ve yet to go to the Neuschwanstein Castle, but I did spend this past Christmas in Germany, just outside of Frankfurt.  Down the road from where my some of my family now live, lies a somewhat odd structure.

Is it the remains of a church?

Tower-1

Actually, what it is, is the base of a tower.  On top of the stone base was an iron structure and stairs to a platform where people could see Frankfurt from above.  That was until the trees around it grew so high they blocked the views and so down came the  tower.

Tower-2

 

At first I was a bit disappointed to find that this was only just over a hundred years old, but eventually pleased that at least the base was left, and at the right angle, distance, it can look entirely different.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

On another day I ventured into Frankfurt and had a wander about and eventually came across the Römerberg.  I was there just as they were taking down and away the Christmas market.  I did go to a Christmas market, but in Rüdesheim, more on that later.

I’d seen pictures of this place before so I knew where I was. I have to say the beauty, and the detail in the buildings impressed me, I was amazed at the level of work that went into it and the preservation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And then I was told that this was built in 1983.  I didn’t believe it at first, but when I was shown a photo of this place in 1944 I couldn’t deny the fact.  I’m still, or more so,  amazed at the amount of work that went into these beautiful buildings, and wish that more modern buildings could be given the same consideration.

This is in serious danger of my going into a rant about shite 1950’s, 1960’s, and beyond, crap concrete and glass blocks that are apparently buildings, (ok I’ll admit some are not so bad, but that is for a later post), so I’ll end this now.

 

 

