Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There’s something fascinating about a model toy town or a diorama in that looks like it could be in both this world and in another, if they are done well that is. But, these methods are somewhat limiting, I mean how many people can you show at a single time?  I suppose if you have some space, money, and a lot of time you could open your own model village. Otherwise, you can make a real city look like a model by several methods.

The most expensive way is with a tilt-shift lens, but you’ll also need a DSLR. Another less costly way is to buy a camera that has art filters, I’m currently using the Olympus XZ-1 that has this feature. There’s also software that will allow you to alter the photo, but that takes time, and I prefer to spend as less time as   And, finally the cheapest method is to use a tilt-ship app, I’m using the TiltShiftFocus app for I-phone, but I’m sure there are others.

I’d like to have a Tilt-Shift lens, but how often I’d use it, and the cost, prevents me from buying one.  As with the cheaper options you need to take the photo from an elevated position, and it isn’t as easy as just point and shoot, you still have to get the shot at the right angle, otherwise it looks like a slightly blurry photo.

I first used this feature on the Olympus last year in London, and got these photo’s from the Monument.

And I tried a few at the Globe theatre.

You don’t always have to take the photo from such an elevated position.

But often it’ll be your only option, the following were taken from the Astronomical Clock in Prague.

The following were taken from the Prague Castle, looking towards the Charles bridge.

This last photo is my personal favourite.  Aside from it being the best example of the tilt shift feature, the building itself is fascinating, I love the abandoned look of the place, the overgrown garden both in the garden proper and on the balcony.

